Keeping Your Facebook Page Secure

We all know the basic safety rules of social media: don’t add people you don’t know, don’t share anything you’d been embarrassed for your boss to see, don’t use the word password as a password. But there’s more you can do to protect your privacy and the privacy of your friends.

Many of the apps on Facebook ask you to allow access to your wall and friends list. This seems like fairly basic information, but it can be valuable to advertisers, who track your activity and that of your friends to create targeted ads. Do you really want strange companies watching your every online move?

The best way to protect your profile is to avoid these apps all together. But if you’ve already clicked on “Who will be your sidekick in the zombie apocalypse” or “who is your soulmate” don’t despair. You can adjust the permissions in Facebook to stop sharing data with these companies.

How to remove an app:

  1. Open Facebook
  2. Click the arrow in the top right-hand corner of the screen
  3. Select Settings
  4. In the menu on the left, click Apps
  5. Hover over an app to see the edit and remove buttons
  6. Click the “x” to remove an app

How to adjust permissions:

  1. Open Facebook
  2. Click the arrow in the top right-hand corner of the screen
  3. Select Settings
  4. In the menu on the left, click Apps
  5. Hover over an app to see the edit and remove buttons
  6. Click the pencil to open the editing menu
  7. From here you can adjust who can see that you’re using the app and the information that you provide to the app
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s